• HB 5 Impacts

    6th, 7th & 8th Graders

    Math, Reading, Writing, Social Studies & Science

    The STAAR assessments in grades 6 through 8 focuses on content taught during the current year rather than knowledge and skills learned over multiple years.

    Middle School Testing

    STAAR Tests by Grade Level:

    Grade 6 Reading Mathematics    
    Grade 7 Reading Mathematics Writing  
    Grade 8 Reading Mathematics Science Social Studies
    STAAR Time Limits:
    Beginning in 2014, the STAAR and STAAR Modified English I and English II assessments will have a five-hour time limit. All other assessments (STAAR, STAAR Spanish, STAAR L, and STAAR Modified) will have a four-hour time limit. Students must complete the test within the same school day. Campuses should use a clock or a timer to monitor test time. 
    Impact on Grade Advancement:
    The Student Success Initiative requires that students in grades 5 and 8 pass both the reading and math exams to be promoted to the next grade.