• HB 5 Impacts

    STAAR for High School

    The STAAR EOC (End-of-Course) assessments test high school students’ mastery of the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) for a given course and determine college and career readiness.

    STAAR Testing for Grades 9-12
    Math English Science Social Studies
    Algebra I English I - Reading Biology U.S. History
      English II - Reading    
      English I - Writing    
      English II - Writing    


    If a student in grade 8 or below is taking a course for which there is a STAAR EOC test, that student will be required to take that particular STAAR EOC assessment. These EOC assessments are for all students graduating after 2014.

    Students graduating in 2014 will take the former Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills as part of their graduation requirement.

    For more information on graduation requirements, see the State Graduation Requirements page.

    Required high school STAAR End-of-Course (EOC) assessments:

    • Algebra I
    • Biology
    • English I (combined reading/writing)
    • English II (combined reading/writing)
    • U.S. History



    Additional Information:

    • A student’s performance on an EOC may not be used to determine the student’s class ranking.
    • The 15-percent rule – which required a student’s EOC score to count as 15 percent of the student’s grade in each tested subject area – has been eliminated.
    • HB 5 limits school districts to two benchmark assessments per school year – these are tests designed specifically to prepare students for a STAAR test. Teachers may still use their own teacher-developed tests during the school year to determine a student’s mastery of a subject – and the various beginning-, mid-, and end-of-year tests provided by the district are not considered benchmarks because they are not tied to STAAR.