Dr. Belinda Reininger

Trustee, Dr. Belinda Reininger
Email: [email protected]
President - Place 6

Dr. Belinda Reininger has been serving on the Harlingen Consolidated Independent School Board of Trustees since May 2018. She is the Regional Dean of the UTHealth Houston School of Public Health in Brownsville and Professor of Health Promotion and Behavioral Sciences. Dr. Reininger and her husband Kenneth, a graduate of Harlingen High School, have lived in Harlingen since 2001 and have three children, Kenneth, Korynne, and Kennedy.


Dr. Reininger has multiple degrees from the University of Texas. She is a graduate of the University of Texas at Austin with a Bachelor of Science in Education. She also completed a Master of Public Health and a Doctor of Public Health from the UTHealth Houston School of Public Health in Houston. Dr. Reininger has been working in higher education and public health for over 28 years. She has over 100 scientific publications and has been invited to present her scientific research in Mexico, Pakistan, Scotland, South Africa and extensively in the United States.


In 2016, she was awarded a UT Regent's Outstanding Teaching award. This award is the University’s premier teaching award honoring outstanding teachers from across the system. She is proud of this award because it represents her dedication to and collaboration with students from the Valley.


Dr. Reininger has a passion for public service. She has served as a leader in multiple organizations that are improving education and health in the Rio Grande Valley. She has served on the advisory board for the Harlingen School of Health Professions since the school opened. She is an active member of two organizations that support young women’s education and character development. Dr. Reininger is the director of the Summer Science Internship program for high school students that places students with university researchers to conduct scientific experiments during the summer.



In 2019, Dr. Reininger was part of the team recognized as Board of the Year by the Texas Association of School Administrators.